Suspended Driver's License Aggressive Philadelphia Defense Lawyers

Suspended Driver's License in Philadelphia

Explained by a DUI Attorney

If you were recently arrested for DUI, you are probably curious about what could happen to your driving privileges if you are found guilty and convicted. At Parkinson, Tarpey & Lloyd, we are a team of former prosecutors with over 40 years of combined legal experience. Our Philadelphia DUI attorneys are prepared to answer all of your questions regarding your case, and beyond that, we know how to effectively challenge DUI evidence.

DUI Convictions & Driver's License Suspensions

Pennsylvania's DUI law created a tiered approach to the penalties, terms of suspensions, fines and other requirements for a DUI conviction. It is the combination of a defendant's Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level, and any prior offenses that determines the license suspension and other penalties.

Under Pennsylvania's DUI laws, commercial drivers, drivers under the age of 18, bus drivers, and offenders involved in accidents that resulted in injuries or damage may be subjected to the harsher penalties, even if their BAC was not considered high.

Pennsylvania license suspensions are imposed as follows:

  • For a BAC below .10% and incapable of safe driving; No suspension for a first time DUI offense, or if the driver meets certain criteria; a 12 month license suspension for a second or subsequent offense.
  • For a BAC that is equal to or greater than .10% and less than .16%: A 12 month driver's license suspension for a first or second offense. An 18 month driver's license suspension for a third or subsequent offense.
  • BAC equal to or greater than .16%: A 12 month license suspension for the first offense. An 18 month license suspension for a second or subsequent offense.
  • Out-of-state DUI: No suspension for a first offense; a 12 month suspension for a second or subsequent offense.

If you have lost your license, or fear that you will, due to DUI charges, you need to reach out to a Philadelphia criminal defense attorney at our firm today.

Eligibility for an Occupational Limited License

A first-time DUI offender may be eligible for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after having served 60 days of his or her suspension. Those who have had their license suspended for 18 months for DUI or for refusing to submit to a chemical test who have no more than one prior offense may also be eligible for an OLL with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) after serving 12 months of their license suspension. Additionally, first-time underage DUI offenders may be eligible for an OLL.

To learn more about our legal services and how we can defend your DUI case, contact our Philadelphia DUI defense lawyers today to schedule a free case evaluation!

We've Successfully Handled Thousands of Cases

Read What Our Clients Have to Say About Us
  • “"Three A+++ lawyers in one firm!"”

    - John J.
  • “"Jim is stand-out lawyer and a stand-up guy!"”

    - John J.
  • “Great company”

    - Antonio M

Case Results

Proven Success In Even the Toughest Fights
  • Commonwealth v. A.P. Charges Dismissed
  • Commonwealth v. B.B. Acquitted
  • Commonwealth v. B.C. Charges Withdrawn
  • Commonwealth v. B.M. Charges Withdrawn
  • Commonwealth v. B.S. Dismissed
  • Commonwealth v. C.M. Not Guilty
  • Commonwealth v. C.S. Dismissed
  • Commonwealth v. A.B. Reduced Sentence
  • Commonwealth v. R.W. Found Not Guilty
  • Commonwealth v. S.G. All Charges Dismised


See What Sets Us Apart
  • Ranked in the Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • Proven Results In & Out of Court
  • Former Prosecution Experience
  • 60+ Years of Combined Experience


Begin Building Your Defense Today With a Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.