Suspended Driver's License in Philadelphia
Explained by a DUI Attorney
If you were recently arrested for DUI, you are probably curious about what
could happen to your driving privileges if you are found guilty and convicted.
At Parkinson, Tarpey & Lloyd, we are a team of
former prosecutors with over
40 years of combined legal experience. Our Philadelphia
DUI attorneys are prepared to answer all of your questions regarding your case, and
beyond that, we know how to effectively
challenge DUI evidence.
DUI Convictions & Driver's License Suspensions
Pennsylvania's DUI law created a tiered approach to the penalties,
terms of suspensions, fines and other requirements for a DUI conviction.
It is the combination of a defendant's Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
level, and any prior offenses that determines the license suspension and
Under Pennsylvania's DUI laws, commercial drivers, drivers under the
age of 18, bus drivers, and offenders involved in accidents that resulted
in injuries or damage may be subjected to the harsher penalties, even
if their BAC was not considered high.
Pennsylvania license suspensions are imposed as follows:
- For a BAC below .10% and incapable of safe driving; No suspension for a
first time DUI offense, or if the driver meets certain criteria; a 12
month license suspension for a second or subsequent offense.
- For a BAC that is equal to or greater than .10% and less than .16%: A 12
month driver's license suspension for a first or second offense. An
18 month driver's license suspension for a third or subsequent offense.
- BAC equal to or greater than .16%: A 12 month license suspension for the
first offense. An 18 month license suspension for a second or subsequent offense.
- Out-of-state DUI: No suspension for a first offense; a 12 month suspension
for a second or subsequent offense.
If you have lost your license, or fear that you will, due to DUI charges,
you need to reach out to a Philadelphia
criminal defense attorney at
our firm today.
Eligibility for an Occupational Limited License
A first-time DUI offender may be eligible for an Occupational Limited License
(OLL) after having served 60 days of his or her suspension. Those who
have had their license suspended for 18 months for DUI or for refusing
to submit to a chemical test who have no more than one prior offense may
also be eligible for an OLL with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) after
serving 12 months of their license suspension. Additionally, first-time
underage DUI offenders may be eligible for an OLL.
To learn more about our legal services and how we can defend your DUI case,
contact our Philadelphia DUI defense lawyers today to schedule a
free case evaluation!